Program Managers

As program management has become a more widely recognized management approach, governments, individuals, and both public and private sector organizations have become interested in frameworks and standards that describe levels of acceptable workplace performance for program personnel.

To provide a neutral spine as a basis for comparing standards, the GAPPS has drawn upon existing standards for program management (MSP®, PMI, P2M, ICB3) to identify the most common elements.  These have been developed into an assessment tool in the form of performance based competency standards which complement knowledge based standards by describing what needs to be done in a particular role.

The GAPPS Program Manager Framework consists of:

  • A Program Typology – that identifies different types of programs
  • A detailed approach to differentiating three levels of program manager based upon program management complexity.
  • Eight units of performance based competence for the role of program manager.
  • A description of six types of program manager based on which of the eight units apply.
  • Supporting material to aid in the application of the standards.

In the GAPPS Program Manager Framework, three are five core Units applicable to all program managers in all contexts:

  • Provide leadership to the program
  • Facilitate stakeholder engagement
  • Craft the program
  • Orchestrate the attainment of benefits
  • Sustain program progress

and three optional units, applicable in specific program contexts:

  • Manage organizational change
  • Direct the management of contracts
  • Engage in collaborative alliances

 Download the GAPPS Program Manager Framework

This framework is intended to be used to guide and assess threshold competency — demonstration of the ability to do something at a standard considered acceptable in the workplace. It is applicable to program managers in all fields of endeavour including, but not limited to: architecture, automotive, biotechnology, construction, defence and aerospace, design, education, engineering, financial services, government, government contracting, information systems, not-for-profit operations, pharmaceuticals, software, and telecommunications.